2014: Focusing on the positives

Happy 2014, everyone! I know everybody says things like this each January, but I can’t believe it’s already the year 2014.  I still remember when the millennium was quickly approaching and the twenty-teens seemed like a lifetime away. I certainly had images of myself in 2014, but I just imagined myself as a mature adult with everything put together.

“Put together.” Ha. But I can say that I’m very happy with my life in my early adult years, and I’m excited for a new year.

I used to be the type of person who refused to set solid New Year’s resolutions. It seemed like too much pressure, and I try to focus on just bettering myself in general, so why set it all on one day?

But now, there are actually a couple of things I want to pay special attention to for this year. I have some dreams that I want to make reality sometime in the near future, and I feel these resolutions are a good step in that direction.

So here are my resolutions for 2014:

1. Focus on the positive in any situation. This has been hard for me at times, like when I’ve started a new job or had something change in my schedule that through off my initial plans. I can often be stubborn about what I want and have difficulty adapting to anything that strays from my expectations. My boyfriend and a co-worker have been a great inspiration for me to be an optimist in these situations, though, and I’m already noticing a change in my attitude just from avoiding the “doom and gloom” I sometimes tend to focus on.

And the most important one (to me):

2. Finish at least one creative project every two weeks.

As mentioned above, I have dreams for my future, and the more I think about it, the more I’m pretty certain I want to have my own business at some point. I love baking, working on websites and graphic design, I have most of what I need for a jewelry making venture I’ve been planning for a while.

I’m extremely passionate about reaching others through delicious, healthy versions of foods. So if I can stay focused on some of these projects, the closer I can get to figuring out exactly what I want to do. This blog will definitely be a big part of this. 🙂 At least that’s the plan. It’s not obvious from reading here, but I’m always experimenting with recipe ideas, and I want to showcase that more here. So I’ll be focusing on more recipes more often.

So, those are my focuses for now! I’m excited about what’s ahead and feeling really motivated to take my passions and work on running with them.

What kinds of resolutions did you guys make for the new year, if any? I’d love to hear about any thoughts you have on 2014!

2 thoughts on “2014: Focusing on the positives

Leave a Reply

